Facebook is launching a new feature called Manage Activity that lets users delete their old posts. You can use it to delete individual posts or in bulk. Facebook says it will offer filtering options to find posts with specific people in them. You can also filter in a certain time range. This could be pretty handy if you want to completely cut off somebody from your life. The feature will come to Facebook’s mobile apps first.
How Facebook feature works
The feature is meant to make it easy for you to curate your presence on Facebook to more accurately reflect who you are today. There are a couple of different options to remove a post from the timeline. It can be sent to the trash. Here it will be removed from public viewing immediately but only permanently deleted 30 days later. However, you can manually delete posts if you want. Alternatively, a post can be archived, which means it’s no longer public but can still be viewed privately.
Manage Activity is Facebook’s latest attempt to give users more control over their data. Last year, it finally launched its Clear History tool, which lets users disconnect their web browsing data from their Facebook account. However, despite its name, Clear History doesn’t delete this data; it just removes the link between it and your Facebook account.
This feature could be life changing if you wish to remove a part of your online history. In my opinion, it may do more good in the near future.